Annual Retreat

2015 Annual Retreat

The 2015 Redox Biology Center Annual Retreat at Eugene T. Mahoney State Park will be held on March 20-21, 2015. This year's retreat will feature a poster session, scientific presentations by students and postdoctoral associates, and a plenary lecture by Dr. Holly Van Remmen, PhD, Senior Research Scientist of the Free Radical Biology and Aging Program and Full Member of the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation in Oklahoma City, OK. She is currently Associate Editor of the Redox Biology journal.


Tohru Fukai, MD, PhDDr. Van Remmen's lab focuses on the role of oxidative stress and mitochondrial function in aging. Her lab utilizes a number of transgenic and knockout models with modified antioxidant defense systems to ask whether changes in antioxidant defense and oxidative stress modify lifespan. Their studies have shown that modifying antioxidant defenses does not alter lifespan indicating that oxidative stress may not be a primary factor underlying aging. However, they propose that oxidative stress is a critical factor in age-associated diseases such as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS). Recently, her lab has studied the role of mitochondria and oxidative stress on alterations in the motor neurons, the neuromuscular junction and skeletal muscle that might contribute to the significant problem of age-related loss of muscle mass and may have implications for onset and progression of ALS.  They are also studying the role of the mitochondrial unfolded protein response (mtUPR) in aging and the potential for tissue cross-talk based on mitochondrial signaling that might influence changes in metabolism.

Past Keynote Speakers

2014: Dr. Tohru Fukai, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine and Pharmacology, University of Illinois at Chicago

2013: Dr. Jim Imlay, Professor, Department of Microbiology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2012: Dr. Henry Jay Forman, Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry at the University of California, Merced

2011: Dr. Frederick (Rick) Domann, Professor of Radiation Oncology in the Free Radical and Radiation Biology Program at the University of Iowa